I recently found out two mage tricks that I didn’t know before, so I thought I’d share them.

First, let’s talk about Archmage Antonidas. He’s a great card, cast any spell and you get a Fireball. However, what I didn’t know is that the Fireballs REPLACE themselves. Say you have 8 mana, you throw down Antonidas and you cast Arcane Missiles. So you get a Fireball to replace your Arcane Missiles. What I didn’t know is that if you cast that Fireball, you’ll get another Fireball to replace it. Essentially you’ll get infinite Fireballs — limited by your mana. If you happen to have a Sorcerer’s Apprentice in play with Antonidas, you could theoretically cast 3 Fireballs in one turn, i.e. 18 damage. Ridiculous!

I learned this from watching the video at the end of this post. It’s Trump playing an arena run where he happened to get the Archmage. It’s a great watch if you have an hour to spare.

The other thing that I didn’t know concerns the Ethereal Arcanist. Its card text says: “If you control a Secret at the end of your turn, gain +2/+2”. What I didn’t know is that it happens at the end of EVERY turn you have a secret up. Say, for example, you cast Ice Block on turn 3 and then Ethereal Arcanist on turn 4. Once you end your turn, he’ll be a 5/5. But if your opponent doesn’t get rid of him, he’ll become a 7/7 minion. At that point, your opponent will probably do whatever it takes to get rid of him.

