It’s been awhile since I listened to metal. I’ve been listening to a lot of chiptunes lately. But a new Dream Theater album will always bring me back.

Above is the first single off the album and is the hardest track on it. I swear Mike Mangini has 6 limbs because there are so many different percussion sounds going on. It’s unreal.

Overall, I’d have to say that this is my favorite Dream Theater album since Metropolis pt 2, Scenes from a Memory. The reason I say that is because there’s always a track or two that just doesn’t seem to resonate me with off their previous albums. However, with this album, I can listen to it all the way through and not skip a track. And, as you may have guessed, I haven’t really done that since Scenes from a Memory.

I think a big part of that is there’s a real lack of cringe-inducing lyrics in this album. Dream Theater has never really been known for epiphany-inducing lyrics, as most people prefer to focus on the musicianship (as they should). But the improvement in lyrics really addresses a weak spot in their songs, and makes for an album that I can listen to front to back, over and over.

Another bright note is that John Myung’s bass isn’t lost in the mix. Yes, he has more solos in this album than on others, but I can actually differentiate his sound from guitarist John Petrucci. Further, Jordan Rudess’s keyboard sound doesn’t dominate tracks as in the previous album, A Dramatic Turn of Events. It’s not that his sound is unwelcome, rather, it’s integrated much more tightly in this album.

It’s a fantastic album, and definitely worth checking out.

