The Maryland State Fair is ending this weekend. We wandered around taking in all the sights: competitions for livestock and produce, rides filled with screaming kids, fried foods, carnival games, and more. Camera in tow, I tried to snap as many photos as I could.

I’m still a novice, so framing and focusing the shot before the moment passes was something I struggled with tonight. But with flowers, I can take my time to set up the shot. These flowers won first place.

As the sign implies, these birds were snappy. I think I lucked out that the camera focused on one particularly incorrigible one.

Due to slow set up, many of my missed opportunities came while trying to shoot baby animals like pigs — they just never sit still nor do the same cute thing twice. Though I didn’t get any good shots of pigs, I ended up with a decent one of some recently hatched chicks.

And finally, my favorite shot of the night. As I walked up to the stall, without a word, the kid bent down to the straw, picked up one of the baby ducks and showed him to me. I felt really lucky after taking it.

