From March 16 to September 30, 2012, the Smithsonian American Art Museum will be running an exhibition entitled The Art of Video Games. The exhibition will have 80 video games on display, chosen through internet votes. I don’t think I could pick out 80 video games that belong in a museum, but here’s how I voted.

Era 5

  • Modern Windows
    • World of Warcraft
    • Portal
    • Minecraft
  • Playstation 2
    • Okami
    • Shadow of the Colossus
  • Wii
    • Monster Hunter Tri

One of the harder choices for me was Minecraft. Also in this category was Starcraft 2, which I thoroughly enjoy. However, the open-ended, creation aspect of Minecraft tipped the scales. Besides, I voted for the original Starcraft in Era 4.

Shadow of the Colossus shared a category with God of War, but I picked Shadow of the Colossus. While the visceral God of War series was amazing, turning slaughter into a ballet, it just doesn’t hold a candle to clinging to the back of a colossi, desperately searching for its weak point.

Era 4

  • DOS/Windows
    • Diablo 2
    • Doom II
    • Starcraft
  • Nintendo 64
    • Goldeneye 007
    • Ocarina of Time
    • Banjo Kazooie
  • Playstation
    • Final Fantasy 7
    • Final Fantasy Tactics

For this category, the tough decision was Banjo Kazooie. The alternative would have been Super Mario 64. While Super Mario 64 ushered video gamers into the realm of 3d platforming, I feel that Banjo Kazooie significantly improved the formula with all of its collectables and the creative powers of the unlikely bear/bird duo.

Era 3

  • Super Nintendo
    • Star Fox
    • Chrono Trigger
    • Super Mario World

The tough one here was Chrono Trigger over The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past. While A Link to the Past certainly is an outstanding game, Chrono Trigger revolutionized JRPGs with its story, multiple endings, and New Game+ feature.

Era 2

  • Nintendo
    • The Legend of Zelda
    • Super Mario Bros 3

As you can probably guess, I didn’t vote for any system that I haven’t played, which wouldn’t be fair. I’m sure that there’ll be enough people voting on hearsay, so one less person doing that shouldn’t tip the scales too much. To that end, I didn’t vote on anything from Era 1 considering those consoles were far before my time. Oh, and yes, I still consider myself a gamer even though I don’t own a PS3 nor an Xbox 360.

I’m really looking forward to hearing which games make the cut and I’m really hoping that no one tries to mess with the results.

