I love Last.fm. It’s a music tracking site wherein users’ songs are “scrobbled” as they play them. Basically, you download a small app that sends an update to the Last.fm servers whenever you play a song. The site tracks things like the number of times you listen to a particular artist or song. Since 2011 just started, I thought I’d look back on 2010 and see my top played tracks.

A quick note first, these aren’t tracks from the number five spot to the number one spot. Instead, I’ve cherry picked a few tracks here from different bands to provide a sampling. So, onto the songs!

Mutiny Within – The End

The first track comes from the God of War: Blood and Metal EP. Admittedly, I have not played God of War 3 — mostly because I don’t have a Playstation 3. I did play the first two, so when they announced this EP with collaborations from my two favorite bands: Opeth and Dream Theater, I had to grab it. This track, “The End”, is the final track on the EP and the vocals just blew me away.

Passion Pit – Sleepyhead

The next track is Passion Pit’s Sleepyhead, which I found through a trailer for Little Big Planet 2. It’s another video game I haven’t played (the first came out in 2008 while this sequel is set to release later this month), but still, the bouncy track stuck with me.

Gorillaz – Stylo

Gorillaz’s Plastic Beach was hit or miss for a lot of people and I completely understand. The downtrodden mood of Demon Days was toned down, and in its place came a more eclectic style, punctuated with, of all things, an orchestra. The first single to come off of this album was Stylo, whose chill beats are accented by Bobby Womack’s improv wails and Mos Def’s understated lines.

The Jelly Jam – Feeling

This track from progressive rock supergroup, the Jelly Jam, just has that flow. There’s not much else to say beyond that, so just listen.

Opeth – Ghost of Perdition

And finally, my most played track of 2010 is Opeth’s Ghost of Perdition, the opening track from the 2005 album, Ghost Reveries. I doubt that this cd will ever leave my car. The opening kicks you awake, but then it devolves into this haunting melody. Yet that opening tension remains throughout, Mikael Åkerfeldt’s death growls return occasionally to rip apart the listener. The song is just incredible and never fails to have me head-banging.

