The soundtrack for TRON: Legacy came out today.

I’ve listened to it twice so far, and I can’t help but feel a little let down. Their last album, Alive 2007, was a live performance album that was a mish-mash of their previous 3 studio albums — and it was fantastic. The TRON: Legacy soundtrack is mostly just that, a soundtrack. The majority of the album contains a lot of moody chords interspersed with orchestral twinkling. It’s not bad, but it’s just not what I really crave when I hear “Daft Punk”. That’s not to say that Daft Punk’s sound is never moody, it’s just that amidst the 22 tracks of the TRON: Legacy OST, I was hoping for more than just “The Game Has Changed”. This is the track you hear on the trailers: driving beats, electronic blips, time shifts, etc. You just listen and you know it’s Daft Punk.

But what can you do. They wrote music for a soundtrack, not as a coherent album. Yet at the same time, I’m not going to decry that they’ve lost touch, as you can see in the single Derezzed and its music video.

