Before continuing on with the food, I wanted to make a post about Sony’s new EVIL (electronic viewfinder, interchangeable lens) cameras, the NEX 3 and NEX 5. The NEX 5, in particular, boasts 1080/60i (that is, 1080 horizontal scan lines, interlaced at 60 frames per second (as opposed to progressive scan) i.e. full HD. Pretty sweet.

As the EVIL tag implies, these cameras are a step up from your normal point and shoot and are often comparable to the lower end DSLRs. However, unlike a DSLRs, these don’t have a mirror that protects the imaging sensor (be it CMOS or CCD for digital or film for you analog folk). Because of this, the body can be made pretty darn small.

I’ve been convincing myself that I don’t need a new camera — torn as I am by the micro four thirds cameras offered by Olympus and Panasonic and the shiny new Canon T2i which also does HD video. But the small form factor is quite a draw. Check out the size difference between these two new Sony’s and the T2i (taken from here).



However, if I were to get a new camera, it would most likely be the T2i. Reason being, DSLRs have a pretty deep pedigree and if I wanted to jump headfirst into photography, I’d rather have that history and experience built into the gadget rather than being a first adopter.

