This is the aftermath of the blizzard that rolled through the east coast this past weekend — there’s something calming about the sun’s pallid light, cast upon the thick layer of snow that seems to have frozen everything in its tracks.

It took Linda over 12 hours to get here on Friday. The journey is normally only 4.5 to 5 hours. The New York Times has an article about the storm, but their coverage on the D.C. beltway seems conservative. She described the situation of all the cars parked on the road, some cars tried to pass on the shoulder, but got stuck, blocking the path for the snow plows. After some time parked on the interstate, she managed to make a u-turn, escaping the interstate-now-parking lot. I’m just glad she made it here safely.

Earlier that afternoon I went to the Verizon store to get a new cell phone. I just needed something to make calls with and ended up spending $150 on a refurbished Motorola. It was horrible timing to ruin my phone, but I at least had something working so I could track her progress and update her on traffic. It’s not the best phone in the world, but it got us through this blizzard.

